Made my own Ringtone

This weekend went really useful. I decided to make my own ringtone. Thanks to the open source projects available on net which helped me to create my ringtone of my taste in no time. Through out the way it was a smooth sail. All that I need to do is follow some simple steps:

  • Download couple of opensource projects (Audacity and Lame mp3 Plugin) and install them in my windows.
  • Audacity: A free open source software for recording and editing sounds in almost any operating system (Linux, Mac OS X or Windows).
  • Lame Plugin: Lame is a free software application used to encode audio into the MP3 file format. This plugin allows Audacity to export MP3 files.
  • I made my ring tone from the one of the famous songs (Fix You) from ColdPlay’s X&Yalbum.
  • To do that I opened the mp3 file (Fix You song) in Audacity and used the ‘I Beam’ tool to select a particular portion out of which I need to my ringtone.
  • Once the portion of the mp3 is selected use the ‘Export to MP3’ option of Audocity to export to MP3 file (which would internally use the Lame Plugin to do the mp3 encoding).
  • The output was awesome and I got my ringtone in such simple steps.
  • All that I’ve to finally do is copy the mp3 ringtone file to my Motorola Razr.
  • Isn’t it amazing? Try out by yourself and make your own ringtone. 🙂

Note: For using Audacity there are some good Audacity Tutorials available which are very easy to understand. Do not hesitate to check them out!

About this entry